Monetary Prizes not awarded in cash at the prize giving are being distributed by bank-transfer. All winners have been contacted for bank details and (as at the time of writing) paid where these have been provided. If you are among the winners and have not heard from us, please check your spam folder and/or reach out via our contact page.


Prize Winner(s) Score Value
First IM Alan Merry (Bury St Edmunds) 4½/5 £ 350
Second equal IM Richard Pert (Brentwood), FM David Haydon (Brentwood), FM Martin Walker (Norwich Dons) , David Spence (Suffolk CCA), Dan Waller (Cambridge City), Russell White (Chelmsford), Alfie Onslow (Ealing)* 3½/5 £ 50 each
u2100 Rating Robert Taylor (Syston) 3/5 £ 50
u2000 Rating Haroon Majeed (Bury St Edmunds) 3/5 £ 50
u18 Junior Alfie Onslow (Ealing)* 3½/5 £ 50
u15 Junior Arnav Srivastrava (Cambridge City) 3/5 £ 50

* Although Alfie Onslow is listed against two prizes, he only receives a single £50 prize. Our rules for the awarding of prizes prevent us from awarding two prizes to the same player. He is listed against the 2nd equal finishers due to his score matching that position. His £50 is awarded in respect of the junior prize. The other six players then share the funds for second and third place between them (and the resulting figure was rounded up to the nearest £5).


Prize Winner(s) Score Value
First Max Pert (Brentwood) 4½/5 £ 200
Second equal Nathan Barnes (Colchester), Stuart Nelson (Braintree), Jerzy Cholewinski (Ipswich) 4/5 £ 55 each
u1800 Rating Roger Gratorex (Sheffield) 3½/5 £ 50
u1700 Rating Francois Swiegers (Stevenage) 3½/5 £ 50
u15 Junior Mae Catabay (Colchester) 3½/5 £ 50


Prize Winner(s) Score Value
First equal Steven Ashworth (Ely), Colin White (Chelmsford), Richard Dickinson (Bury St Edmunds) 4/5 £ 95 each
u1400 Rating Jacon Liu (Hertfordshire) 3/5 £ 50
u15 Junior Rowan Kent (Bury St Edmunds) 3½/5 £ 50 membership prizes

All prizes mentioned below are memberships at diamond level. Because these cannot be shared we have used tie-breaks to distribute the prizes when players have the same score. The tie-breaks used were head-to-head result, the Sonneborn–Berger score and Rating Performance.

Allocating these prizes can take some time due to needing to collect membership details. Any winner not wishing to take up their prize can allocate it to a friend, or ask us to award it to another player of our choosing.

  1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
  6 month diamond 3 month diamond 3 month diamond
Open IM Alan Merry IM Richard Pert David Spence
Major Max Pert Stuart Nelson Nathan Barnes
Minor Steven Ashworth Colin White Richard Dickinson


Awarded to the highest-scoring junior playing in the Bury League or Suffolk League from the highest section in which a score of 3 points is achieved. The trophy has been awarded to:

Arnav Srivastrava (Cambridge City) - who achieved 3 points in the Open section.


Awarded to the highest-scoring player who plays in the Bury League or Suffolk League. This can be in action section of the event, with tie-breaks of higher event section and sum of progressive scores. The winner is:

Steven Ashworth (Ely) - who achieved 4 points in the Minor.